Personal

Change A Sub-Q Site

For those who don’t know, some hyperemetic women begin using zofran pumps. These can be the size of an eyeglass case, with syringes that need loaded often. Where I live the company that most often supplies those, does not reach. The local home health supply place uses a Cad pump. Most commonly used for home antibiotics that need to be delivered 24/7. These pumps work by delivering a set dose of medication at set intervals. Meaning that for zofran users we don’t have the fluctuations from when the medication is high and great, to wearing out and low. Personally I love the constant dose of medication. 
The Sub-Q needle goes in subcutaneously. Meaning not into a vein, rather into a fatty area. This is how insulin pump users are given the medication.  I know it’s time to change when the site become swollen and very tender. If you are squeamish then bypass this. 

First I begin by setting out what I’ll need. This is where dirty needles go. I also set out alcohol wipes and the new needle.    
This is what the new needle looks like in its wrapping. 

 
First the pump needs stopped. Wouldn’t want to waste that precious medicine right?

   
Next I pull the cap off of my site. This makes it far easier to remove the old site. 

 
See the red around it? The site is tender and swollen. Time to remove this, but I prefer to place a new one first. 

   
After removing the old sites tubing, the new one is hooked up. Time to prime it- fill the tube with medicine instead of air. 

 
Here the paper is removed to expose the sticky part. The needle is very small and if you look closely you can see a drop of the medicine on the end of it. 

   
Some people prefer to warm the skin first, this makes it less painful. Then just pinch the fat and quickly insert the needle. Pull back on that blue part and the needle comes out, leaving a catheter in place. 

 
The needle will be locked inside the blue casing and placed in the biohazard box. Not too scary honestly. 

   
Time to start the pump. For mine it is fairly simple. The first few droplets can sting so personally I choose to remove the old site during this time. 

 
Gently go around the edge to loosen tape. Then quickly pull off. 

   
Some liquid and blood will come out. This is completely normal, do not squeeze it! The body will absorb it eventually. 

 
Here is the old site once cleaned up. It will be ready to use again in a few weeks. A knot can be felt and this is also normal. 

   
This is a maternity support band I made. I’ve found it works well now to help hold the extra tubing in place so my toddlers don’t yank it. 


Lastly I button my skirt back up, run a belt through the hoop on the pump case, and fasten the belt. Viola! All done. 

    
Here is the finished look. I will slide the pump side to side depending on how I lay down. It doesn’t hurt to wear or use. The more fat you have the better these work. Last time I had no fat left on me by the time I got a pump, and the sites when bad within hours. They should last anywhere from 24-48 hours. 


Here is from my last pregnancy.  This shows the amount of times I had poked. The pump lasted a week before it failed. Hopefully this time is different. 

last pregnancy.

God bless and have a wonderful day! 

 

Leave a comment